Working Groups - International Congress for Athlete Brain Health 

Rather than meeting only once every four years, our members, divided into working groups, have an ongoing assignment of tracking a particular topic in real time, meeting virtually at least quarterly, and providing easily accessible recommendations to patients, their caregivers, and their medical providers.


All involved were selected because of a record of critical thought, objectivity, passion, and absence of strongly stated personal agenda or bias.


​Chair: Jeffrey Kutcher, MD



  • Donna Broshek, PhD

  • Paul Comper, PhD, C. Psych

  • Chris Giza, MD 

  • Hutchison, 

  • Geoffrey Ling

  • Tamara McLeod, PhD, ATC, FNATA

  • William Meehan, 

  • Fiona Wilson, BSc, MSc, MA, PhD, MISCP

  • Ross Zafonte, DO 

Patient Representative:

  • Ben Utecht


​Chair: Michael Hutchison, 


  • JP Darche, 

  • David Lawrence, 

  • Jeffrey Kutcher, MD

  • Chris Giza, MD

  • Summer Rolin

  • Carrie Esopenko

  • Mike McCrea

  • Brenda Eagan-Johnson

Patient Representative:

  • Ben Fanelli

Persisting Symptoms after Concussion 

​Chair: Donna Broshek, PhD


  • Russ Bauer, PhD, ABPP

  • RJ Elbin, PhD

  • Stan Herring, MD

  • Anne Mucha, PT, DPT, MS, NCS 

  • Jamie Pardini, PhD

  • Julianne Schmidt, PhD, ATC

  • Bert Vargas, MD, FAHS, FAAN

Patient Representative:

  • coming soon

Long Term/TBI

​Chair: Ross Zafonte, DO



  • Kevin Crutchfield, MD

  • Andreas Gonschorek, MD

  • Etienne Laverse, 

  • Haruo Nakayama, 

  • Nicole Reams, MD

Patient Representative:

  • Jamie Crane-Mauzy


​Chair: Fiona Wilson, BSc, MSc, MA, PhD, MISCP



  • Avinash Chandran, 

  • Rob Lynall, 

  • Michael Rippee, MD

  • Richelle Williams, 

Patient Representative:

  • Thom Mayer

Youth Timing

​Chair: Tamara McLeod, PhD, ATC, FNATA 



  • Tony Alessi, MD

  • Justin DiSanti, PhD

  • Lenore Herget, 

  • Johna Register-Mihalik, 

Patient Representative:

  • John Rizos

Brain Health Promotion

​Chair: William Meehan


  • S

Patient Representative:

  • P

Mental Health

​Chair: Paul Comper, PhD, C. Psych



  • Meeryo Choe, 

  • Maria Dennis

  • Michael Jaffee, 

  • Jess Schwartz, 

  • Michelle Weber Rawlins, 

Patient Representatives:

  • Rob Christie

  • Eric Hipple


​Chair: - pending -


  • Steve Cohen

  • Kevin Hall

  • Josh Kamins, MD

  • Ted Price 

  • Tad Seifert, MD

Patient Representative:

  • Patrick Eaves


​Chair: Chris Giza, MD



  • Charlene Gamaldo

  • David Howell, PhD

  • Jeff Iliff

  • Raman Malhotra

  • Rachel Pearson, MD

Patient Representative:

  • Courtney McCabe



  • - pending -



  • Justin Anderson, PsyD

  • Cara Baxter, DPT

  • Andrew Gottschalk, MD

  • Jon Finoff, DO

  • Jose Posas, MD

  • Vern Williams, MD

Patient Representative:

  • Rob Karas

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram

© 2020 Athlete Brain Health Foundation 501(c)(3)

EIN: 82-3394158